Remembering Charles Hine

We were sad to hear that Charles Hine died yesterday, 1 January 2024. Charles – distinguished clarinet player, conductor and academic – was a long-term collaborator and sometime trustee of Colchester New Music. Here are a few words from his friend and colleague Alan Bullard:

I knew Charles for about forty years, as teaching colleague, fellow musician, and friend. He maintained his professional career, as member of the Vega Quintet and other ensembles, alongside his teaching at Colchester Institute and encouragement of music-making in the wider world by his work with the British Association of Symphonic Bands and Wind Ensembles (BASBWE) and the British Clarinet Ensemble. In his teaching, playing and conducting he showed consummate artistry and musical understanding, and I was lucky enough to have several of my own works performed by him. He was active himself as a composer of music for the concert hall and for education, and was also a skilled and careful administrator who helped to run the Colchester Institute Music Department efficiently for many years. There must be so many musicians, amateur and professional, who owe their skills to Charles’ encouragement, he was a lovely man with a great sense of humour who will be much missed. My condolences to Kerry and to his wider family xx

Alan Bullard, 1 January 2024

The CNM concert Charles gave with Alan Bullard (piano) and Tim Torry (baritone) in 2017 proved to be one of his last solo clarinet performances. His artistry is captured well by Alan’s live recording:

Charles Hine had a life-long commitment to new music, not only as a composer but also as interpreter and promoter of the works of others. In 2019, not long before retiring as director of the British Clarinet Ensemble, Charles conducted them in a new music workshop for CNM. Here is Tim Torry’s “Worship” recorded at that session:

Please feel free to add your own memories of Charles in the comments section below.

8 thoughts on “Remembering Charles Hine

  1. I remember Charles from his association with Colchester New Music and particularly recall his excellent performance of my composition ” Dance” with Alan as accompanist. Although I did not have the long association that other colleagues have it was clear to me what a deeply committed, highly skilled and enthusiastic musician he was and I am deeply sad to hear of his passing.

  2. I was privileged that Charles played my “Whither Now?” at the 2017 concert, with great care and expression. Condolences to all who knew him and cherished his music.

  3. I remember Charles from the Colchester Institute music school, and as a really enthusiastic conductor of the EYSWO in 2004, where I was a flute player. He brought us all together and I really loved the courses and concerts I took part in with him. Sorry to hear this news.

  4. I played in EYSWO under Charles’s baton for several years. He had a wonderful energy and so much musical insight to share. His sectional rehearsals were always highlights on Essex Youth Orchestra courses. I was always especially pleased when he would demonstrate playing techniques himself – his glissando was the envy of us all. A wonderful man – my thoughts go out to his loved ones.

  5. The funeral/ farewell service is on Friday 9 February at 10.45am in Colchester Cemetery Chapel.

    For further details please see
    charleshine.muchloved.com.

    Kerry Hine

  6. I met Charles as a great, friendly conductor when he conducted our clarinet ensemble in South Tyrol/Italy.
    We had a good musical exchange. We were also in Colchester and were able to play music there with Charles and his ensemble
    I am grateful for the beautiful music-filled memories with Charles.
    Rest in peace!

    1. Thank you Elfriede, I know Charles treasured his visits to the South Tyrol to work with your ensemble. He was so pleased that your ensemble came to visit and had a tour of London too.
      Thank you all for enriching his life in this way 💕
      Kerry (Mrs Hine)

  7. I was sorry that I could only attend Charles’ Funeral online; but so moved by the occasion for so much gratitude and admiration for all Charles enabled, and achieved. My greatest memory was of his conducting and making possible my large scale piece “The Essex Serpent”, written for the British Clarinet Ensemble.
    He encouraged and assisted me in the rather complex scoring – not to mention transpositions involved, – given the number of clarinets of all sizes involved. He will be unforgettable to all the musicians and friends that he knew.

Leave a comment